Skip to main content

Top 10 Best Comedy Clubs in London

Picture of Top 10 Best Comedy Clubs in London

Filed under the categories

When deciding on whether a comedy club is any good, so much depends on the night in question, with variables like the comedian booked and the mood of the audience. So Fluid London has scoured the capital for the best bars and clubs with the best reputation. There's something on this list for fans of Michael McIntyre or Stewart Lee (If you're a fan of Jim Davidson, you should stop reading now, if you can actually read. There's nothing for you here.)

Tags: Theatre & show

Book now

The Comedy Store
West End / Bar /

The Comedy Store is the busiest comedy venue in London with over 3,500 guests passing through their doors weekly. It is one of the most popular stand up venues in London and they have been entertaining the crowds since 1979 with their eclectic lineups from news-based comedy, the very best of comedy improv and the key nights with the finest comic talent from around the globe. They have a carefully selected menu of classic dishes and popular beverages. Contact The Comedy Store directly

Book now

RS Hispaniola
West End / Bar / Restaurant / Cuisine: European

Get on board this boat bar and have a good laugh on the Thames. With hosted comedy events there are fun times ahead. Enjoy a pre-comedy dinner, food and drinks during the shows and giggles throughout. For more details and to book email or tel: 020 7839 3011 Contact RS Hispaniola directly

Book now

The Bedford
Balham / Bar /

Often known as the friendliest comedy club in the country, this comedy club is housed in a vast Shakespearean Globe Theatre and Ballroom. If you can think of a famous comedian, they've probably performed at the Bedford: Harry Hill, Catherine Tate, Omid Djalili, to name a few. The pub offers tasty pub grub from carefully sourced suppliers using ingredients of the highest quality. They offer a wide range of real ales, bottled lagers and draught and an extensive wine list. Contact The Bedford directly

Book now

The Camden Head
Camden / Bar / Cuisine: Gastro

The refurbed upstairs of the Camden Head pub has emerged as a top-notch comedy club. With a varied but impressive history - Harry Hill, Alan Carr, Russell Howard and Stewart Lee have all performed here at some point in their careers - current highlights include Laugh Out London's chaotic experimental gigs, Sara Pascoe's Flashmob, while on Saturdays the venue is home to the Hampstead Comedy Club, where veteran comedian/promoter Ivor Dembina hosts an ever impeccable line-up. It's easy on the wallet, too - punters will rarely pay more than £10 and many gigs are free. Contact The Camden Head directly

Book now

Faulty Towers The Dining Experience
West End / Restaurant / Hotel / Cuisine: British

This UK phenomenon has been selling out to packed audiences throughout the world and it's currently continuing it's hugely popular run at the Amba Hotel Charing Cross, where it has been performing since 2012. This tribute to John Cleese's legendary 70's sitcom captures the spirit of Basil, Sybil and Manuel surprisingly well alongside 1970s inspired cuisine. With only a third of the show scripted, it's an entertaining experience always worth revisiting. Contact Faulty Towers The Dining Experience directly

Book now

Up the Creek
Greenwich / Bar / Club / Cuisine: Thai

This purpose-built club in Greenwich was originally set up by the late, great Malcolm Hardee in the '90s and remains one of the most prolific comedy venues in the capital. But be warned, this isn't one for the timid: the lively locals aren't afraid to torture comics. The weekly Sunday Special, however, offers a spectacular line-up accompanied by a slightly more laid-back atmosphere, while budding comics should head there on Thursday for the ever-popular open mic night. Contact Up the Creek directly

Book now

The Miller
Borough & Southwark / Bar / Club / Cuisine: Pub

Hidden in the backstreets of Borough, The Miller bar is home to an eclectic array of arts, from live music and DJs through to comedy. Every Friday and Saturday it is home to Hoopla!, which sees at least two different improvised comedy groups performing. What you get of course depends on what night it is, but expect anything from short-form games to improv musicals and late night jams. And be warned, in can get really weird. They run comedy course and improv classes, too. Contact The Miller directly

Book now

The Comedy Pub
West End / Bar / Cuisine: Bar

Housed in a typical Victorian pub in a listed building based in central London, the Piccadilly Comedy Club offers brilliant stand up comedy acts Thursday to Sunday. Tickets can be as cheap as £7.50 and includes 4-5 acts on the night and normally contains 2 "star names" such as Russell Howard. It has a capacity of 130 fully seated. They offer a variety of classic pub dishes, beers on tap and a handpicked list of distinctive wines. Contact The Comedy Pub directly

Book now

Hideaway
Streatham & Norbury / Bar / Club /

The Hideaway is a jazz and comedy venue in Streatham. They have a regular comedy night on Fridays - with acts like Luke Benson, Sarah Pascoe and Kerry Godliman - which at £10 a pop is a bit more expensive than most regular London comedy nights but includes some well-known acts. It's also worth coming here to check out the jazz or even jazz classes, who knows maybe you could be the next jazz star? Contact Hideaway directly

Book now

The Good Ship
Kilburn / Bar /

Most people living in Kilburn will have gravitated to the Good Ship pub at some point in the wee hours of a Saturday morning so it can feel strange to find yourself there on a Monday for the Comedy night without having had seven tequila shots first. At £5, for a line-up that generally includes five or more acts, such as Adam Hess, Josie Long, Bobby Mair and Luisa Omielan, it's pretty cheap entertainment and the comedy area is nice and small so you can be close to the acts, if you dare. Contact The Good Ship directly

ID: 92

Venue Managers: think you should be here?

Click here to send a message to the Fluid editorial team.

 

Loved

"Hi guys, I come here with my friends and have very good time. I like your place very much and is very good times. I come back when I can soon. Thank you very much." Which venue is this?

Hated

"Dreadful pub, run by people who have zero idea about hospitality or running a pub. Upon arrival we sat in the back garden that only had one other table occupied , when we tried to order off the lunch menu..." Which venue is this?

Log in to Fluid London

Login with a Fluid username and password
Email:
Password:
Remember Me

Forgot your password?
Register as a new user?

Or login using FaceBook

Login with FaceBook
;